About JFS

Jewish Family Services of Ottawa (JFS) is a full service, non-sectarian agency serving residents of the greater Ottawa area – located at 2255 Carling Avenue, Suite 300. We offer more than 65 programs and services to children, youth, adults and seniors, be they individuals, couples, families or groups.

Our Vision

Through Jewish traditions, values and culture, to build a community where people can learn to care for themselves and each other with dignity, respect and compassion.

Our Mission

In the spirit of “Tikkun Olam,” our mission is to strengthen Jewish individual, family and communal life, and to strengthen individual, family and communal life in the greater Ottawa community. The mission is accomplished through direct social service, partnership, and advocacy.

Administrative Team

Executive Director, Director of Seniors Services, and Shalom Bayit: Violence Against Women Program
Sarah Caspi, MSW, RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 246
Associate Executive Director, Director of Tikvah and Settlement Services
Andrea Gardner, MSW, RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 321
Chief Financial Administrator
Laurie Chochinov, CPA, CGA
613-722-2225 ext. 344
Director of Development
David Dern, CFRE
613-722-2225 x 325
Director of Counselling and Mental Health
Michael Gershuny, M.Ed, MSW, RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 410
Human Resources Specialist
Karen Ruyter
613-722-2225 ext. 248

Program Management Team

Manager, The Counselling Group
Wendy Cotton, MSW RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 414
Manager, Settlement
Adriana Jary
613-722-2225 ext. 322
Manager, The Centre for Children, Youth and Families
Kathryn Owens, MSW, RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 351
Manager, The Tikvah Program
Shelley Rivier, MSW RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 323
Manager, Thelma Steinman Seniors Support Services
Lisa Rossman, MSW RSW
613-722-2225 ext. 392
Manager, Diverse Seniors Support Services
Laura Thomas, SSW 
613-722-2225 ext. 313
Manager, Refugee and Vulnerable Newcomers
Carmen G. Urbina, M.Ed, RP
613-722-2225 ext. 245

Board members

Jack Shinder
Vice President
Steve Morgan
Vice President
Dr. Mark Luden
Honorary Vice President
Rabbi Reuven Bulka
Leslie Siegman
David Weinstein
Past President
John Jackson
Board Member
Esther Rossman
Board Member
Harvey Goldberg
Board Member
Cynthia Powell
Board Member
Brenna Rivier
Board Member
Christopher Adam
Board Member
Hugh Shewell
Board Member
Riva Levitan
Board Member
Mitch Charness